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NEVADA STATE CONTRACTORS BOARD AWARDS $394,000
TO HARMED HOMEOWNERS THROUGH RECOVERY FUND

LAS VEGAS and RENO, NEV. — At its January 18 Residential Recovery Fund Committee meeting,
the Nevada State Contractors Board awarded 24 homeowners who were financially harmed by licensed

contractors a total of $394,068 in Residential Recovery Funds.

"When homeowners hire a licensed contractor, there is an expectation that the contractor will fulfill its
obligations in accordance with the law and the construction contract,” stated NSCB Executive Officer
Margi Grein. “The Residential Recovery Fund is one of the greatest resources we have in place to
provide financial remedy when a licensed contractor fails to uphold their responsibilities at a cost to the

consumer.”

Among the claimants represented at the meeting, nearly half had paid for work that was never
performed by S&E Contracting Inc. license #85711, DBA Made in the Shade, a contractor whose
license was revoked last September. Homeowner Anne Martz shared she paid a total of $8,750 for a
patio cover, but the licensee never showed up to do the work. “It's been a nightmare. The fact that the
Contractors Board revoked their license, so they won’t be able to do this to anyone else in the state of

Nevada, and also reimbursed us from the Residential Recovery Fund is huge,” said Martz.

The Nevada Legislature created the Residential Recovery Fund in 1999, which has awarded
approximately $15 Million to harmed homeowners since inception. Homeowners are eligible to submit
a claim to the Fund if they own and occupy the single-family residence where work is performed and
suffered a financial loss by the contractor within four years of the date of the contract, or have obtained

a judgement in civil court which has not been paid by the contractor within two years of issuance.



The Contractors Board reminds all homeowners to:

e Hire ONLY licensed contractors (Licenses can be verified at NSCB).

e Obtain a minimum of three (3) bids.

e NEVER pay cash — use check or credit card.

e Keep down payments to no more than 10% of total contract price or $1,000, whichever is less.

e Always pay close attention to the terms of the contract — do not sign until you understand and
agree.

e Never sign a contract by anyone who is rushing you.

For more information visit the Nevada State Contractors Board website at: www.nscb.nv.gov

The Nevada State Contractors Board is committed to protecting the public’s health, safety, and welfare through licensing
and regulation of the construction industry. Under Nevada Revised Statutes, a licensee is subject to disciplinary action by
the Board for failure to comply with the requirements of the laws or regulations governing contractors. Violations may result
in Board action against the contractor’s license. The State Contractors Board has the power to regulate contractors and
discipline licensees who violate NRS 624. Disciplinary action may consist of a fine, order corrective action, suspension,
revocation or other action.
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The Nevada Contractors Board is committed to ensuring the integrity and professionalism of the construction industry in
Nevada. The NSCB has the responsibility to promote quality construction by Nevada licensed contractors through a
regulatory licensing system designed to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public. For more information about the
Nevada State Contractors Board, please visit www.nsch.nv.gov.

Follow the Board on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.
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